In the spring of 2015, St. Edward’s University began the exterior restoration and interior renovation of Holy Cross Hall, one of its two iconic historic campus buildings. Originally built as a dormitory in 1903, the project’s scope included improvements including masonry repointing, window replacement, wood trim repairs, and roofing replacement in addition to interior modernization. The more significant whole-building interior renovation totaled about 25,000 square feet to provide 40 faculty offices, ground-level spaces for faculty training and education, an Honors classroom, offices for the student newspaper, the School of Arts & Humanities Dean’s Suite, and collaborative spaces in the corridors and stair landings. In the process of the renovation, the architect uncovered the original long-leaf-pine wood subfloor that was salvaged, refinished, and placed in the corridors.
The university hired Baldridge Architects of Austin as the architects and Benz Resource Group as the project manager representing St. Edward’s University for the project.